Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Funding Opportunities by the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Creative and intelligent minds are the key to successful science and research. That is why the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) puts a special focus on promoting young researchers. We are committed to helping young talents pursue cutting-edge investigations in top-level settings and become independent early on in their career.

Flexible individual funding and customized excellence programmes give young researchers the opportunity to advance their career and undertake projects in all branches of science and the humanities. This workshop will address the different opportunities for young researchers, e.g. the research fellowship for doing research abroad, the temporary position for being a principle investigator in a research project in Germany and the funding schemes Emmy Noether and Heisenberg, aimed at outstanding researchers.

Dr. Anjana Buckow has been working in the Careers section of the DFG head office for 15 years. She got her PhD in contemporary history from the Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg.

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Jahn: Prof. Dr. Reinhard Jahn obtained his PhD in Biology from the University of Göttingen in 1981. After a research period at Yale University and Rockefeller University he joined the Max-Planck Institute for Psychiatry as Junior Research Group Leader in 1986. 1991 he returned to Yale University as Assocate/Full Professor, with an affiliation with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Since 1997 he is Director at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry.

In addition to his research work on synaptic transmission Reinhard Jahn served on evaluation panels of the DFG and the ERC, and he was also member of the DFG Senate. He is particularly committed to the career development of young scientists. He was founder of one of the first IMPRS, speaker and dean of a graduate school funded by the Excellence Initiative at the University of Göttingen, member of committees of the Wissenschaftsrat and the HRK, and from 2012-2017 head of the presidential commission for junior scientists in the MPS. Presently, he is chairing the selection committee of the BLK for the “1000 junior professorship program” in Germany.