Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


15   Faculty of Social Sciences


Dean′s Office

Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1, room A 114
80539 Munich
Phone: +49 (0) 89 / 21 80 - 36 45, - 53 63
Fax: +49 (0) 89 / 21 80 - 63 34


The Faculty of Social Sciences is the third largest faculty at LMU Munich in terms of student numbers. It encompasses the core subjects of sociology, political science, and communication science. What these subjects have in common is that they examine the status of people in society (also in historical contexts), convey the insights gained, and render them useful for the world of today and tomorrow. The faculty offers a total of ten different major or minor programs and provides the opportunity to gain the doctoral degree Dr.rer.pol.

The CAP Center for Applied Policy Research, with its focus on European politics, is affiliated with the Chair of Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Weidenfeld.