Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Dingwell named as Chair of the section of Earth and Cosmic Sciences of Academia Europaea

Munich, 07/17/2008

The council of the Academia Europaea, Europe’s academy of arts and sciences, has named Professor Donald Bruce Dingwell to the position of Chair for Earth and Cosmic Sciences.

The Academia Europaea is composed of 14 sections ranging over all fields of academic endeavour. The section of Earth and Cosmic Sciences is one of the oldest and most active sections with over 300 members. Section members include Europe’s best scientists representing all aspects of the earth and cosmic sciences who have been elected based on their integrity and standing within the community of scientists.

The section chair represents the Earth and Cosmic Sciences at council meetings. One of the most important duties of the section chair is to accompany and coordinate the process by which candidates for membership of the Academia Europaea are presented to the council. The academy members are sought-after experts and advocates of Europe’s best science at local, regional, national and European governmental and organisational scales.

Professor Dingwell is Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology and Director of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences of LMU Munich. He leads a research group which has achieved the distinction of a LMUexcellent Research Professorship of Experimental Volcanology.

Professor Dingwell was elected a member of the Academia Europaea last year. The London-based academy was founded in 1988 and encompasses more than 2,000 members from 43 countries. The membership includes renowned experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, the letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and the law.

For more information on the Academia Europeae, please go to:



Responsible for content: Communications & Media Relations