Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation



Gerd Binnig wins Kavli Prize

München, 06/13/2016

Gerd Binnig, Honorary Professor of Physics at LMU and winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics, has been awarded the Kavli Prize for Nanosciences. He shares the generously endowed award with two other laureates.

Source: DefiniensAG

The Kavli Prize is administered by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences, and is presented by the reigning Norwegian monarch, King Harald V. The accolade is awarded annually for ground-breaking discoveries in the fields of Astrophysics, Nanosciences and Neurosciences. The Prizes, worth a total of 1 million US dollars in each category, are endowed by the Kavli Foundation, which was set up by the Norwegian-born engineer and industrialist Fred Kavli (1927–2013), who later migrated to California and became a citizen of the US.

Gerd Binnig became an Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Physics at LMU in 1986, the year in which he shared the Nobel Prize in Physics for the invention of the atomic force microscope (AFM) with Heinrich Rohrer. That work was carried out when Binnig was at the IBM Research Laboratory in Zürich, and he went on to head the IBM Physics Group at LMU from 1988 until 1994. He shares the Kavli Prize for Nanosciences with Christoph Gerber and Calvin Quate. According to the citation, the award goes to the trio “for the invention and realization of atomic force microscopy – a breakthrough in measurement technology and nanosculpting that continues to have a transformative impact on nanoscience and technology.”